Home /

News and Updates

DOT grants the WTTC Safe Travels Stamp to 33 more hotels nationwide

Department of Tourism (DOT) Secretary Bernadette Romulo-Puyat awarded today, (21 April) the World Travel and Tourism Council (WTTC) Safe Travels Stamp to the new batch of recipients comprised of 33 DOT-accredited accommodation establishments (AEs) belonging to six regions.  These are in Region VII, 16 of which are in Cebu and Bohol; Region IV-B, all nine are in Palawan; Region VI, all three in Boracay; Region IX, all three in Zamboanga; CAR, one in Baguio City and, Region XI, one in Davao City. Total number of recipients is now at 40 including the seven accommodation establishments given the Safe Travels Stamp earlier this year.

The WTTC Safe Travels Stamp is the world’s first safety and hygiene stamp for travelers to recognize governments and businesses that have adopted global health standardized protocols.

In September 2020, the Philippines received the Stamp after being assessed as having in place, health and safety guidelines (HSG) that are aligned with the WTTC’s core requirements.  Subsequently, recipient countries take on the role as Safe Travel Ambassadors, advocating the implementation of the Safe Travel protocols and the enrolment of facilities and destinations.

“In January, the DOT awarded the first two stamp holders, Grand Hyatt Hotel and Joy Nostalg Hotel & Suites Manila.  Later, five more were added, namely – Aruga by Rockwell, The Peninsula Manila, Solaire Resort, and The Forest Lodge and The Manor at Camp John Hay. In March, we received more than 100 applications coming from the different regions, which also include Mabuhay AEs and destinations.  This surge of interest is reflective of their readiness to adopt to the new normal and desire to be globally recognized as a fun and ‘safe travels’ facility,” Secretary Puyat enthused at the simple virtual ceremonial awards.

The recipients get to be promoted in the websites and social media platforms of the DOT and the Tourism Promotions Board (TPB), but the key takeaway is global exposure and benefitting from the vast network of WTTC member organizations.

The 33 DOT-accredited AEs are compliant with the DOT’s Health and Safety Guidelines aligned with the WTTC Safe Travels Protocols, duly inspected and endorsed by the regional offices concerned.

As to classification, five are star hotels while 28 have regular accreditation.

The previous recipients were also present during the simple rites.

“Now that the country’s vaccination program is in full swing, we anticipate that parallel initiatives across the globe will hasten the resumption of international travel.  As early as now, we need to prepare our facilities and destinations to be visitor-ready, with health and safety as key concerns. The WTTC Safe Travels Stamp, on top of our accreditation, will hope to restore travelers’ confidence in the Philippines as a ‘safe and fun’ destination,” the tourism chief remarked.

Attached is the full list of the stamp holders.

How to apply 

Interested AEs should submit a letter of intent, accomplished application form, and establishment logo while destinations include the local government unit (LGU) profile, health and safety-related issuances/ordinances and destination logo.

Applications should be coursed through the DOT’s regional offices with email addresses available at www.tourism.gov.ph/regional_offices.aspx.

Those presently repurposed as quarantine or isolation facilities are not qualified to join.

Published:April 21, 2021

Recent News